Ideal setup for a band

Write here what nice effects or shows you have done with MADRIX or ask other users.

Moderator: MADRIX Team

BrianInABand

Ideal setup for a band

Post by BrianInABand »

Hello, I'm a madrix beginner with a decent understanding of DMX, MIDI and most professional audio software. I spent a while reading around, and this forum has been very helpful so far. I'm in a band that uses basic DMX in our concerts, we currently have a few RGB par-cans and pallets to wash the stage in color, plus we occasionally strobe or run a color-wheel effect. Nothing crazy or out of the ordinary in our setup, we usually have a friend pull up queues with a cheap DMX controller and call it a day.

I'm a big fan of intelligent lighting, so I decided to upgrade our lights. I recently acquired a few LED Walker Color Tubes. I do not own a madrix key yet, or a DMX interface (though Enttec's boxes are looking quite nice). I downloaded the madrix software, and it looks straight forward for the most part. I'm sure there will be a few hurdles; however I think I have the basics figured out. I'm writing this post because I have a few newbie questions that I'll try to explain clearly and hopefully not confuse any other newbies who might find this post helpful in the future. I'm interested in how you would recommend setting up a Madrix rig for a live band. The primary focus of the rig would be syncing up with the band. Our band does use a lot of midi-instruments (primarily keyboard) so it would be possible to do something with timecode via midi, but I'm not sure which way to go – since there are dozens of ways of doing this.