Just Starting, Got a new job, need help.

Write here what nice effects or shows you have done with MADRIX or ask other users.

Moderator: MADRIX Team

Greasemonkey

Just Starting, Got a new job, need help.

Post by Greasemonkey »

Hi everybody, My names Andres and I'm a total newbie here. A newbie at LED lighting and computer programs in general.

I was just hired onto a company that specializes in LED lighting instillation. The owner wants to incorporate DMX programming into his companies services, he knows a little about it but not much. He's asked me to learn it and work for him.

Having 0 experience with this type of stuff I just have one question so far. What is the best Laptop to use for this type of software and line of work?

I'm literally starting at ground zero here. But the company isn't paying for my training, or equipment (laptop, software ect), and isn't rushing me to learn it. I'm gonna be doing this on my own, but first I need a good laptop.

Thanks in advance for any responses.
Fritzsche
Support
Support

Re: Just Starting, Got a new job, need help.

Post by Fritzsche »

Hi there,
And welcome!

A normal laptop will be okay. But I think there are three sides to this question:

1) System requirements of MADRIX
2) Personal requirements
3) Budget

1) For today's standards of graphic intense applications, the current -minimum- system requirements of MADRIX are quite managable I think. But at the same time, MADIRX can melt down the most powerful computer with ease! It depends on various factors. For DMX applications and to get started, a medium laptop should be fine. (From my point of view I would probably make sure that it has a native graphics card; instead of using only an onboard chip.) More info on system requirements is available here: http://help.madrix.com/hidd_before_star ... ments.html